Can I?

Yesterday I went out with two good friends of mine (good being = great), we had a bit of a struggle meeting up as I “surrendered” my mobile phone that day (I`m getting a new one! Yippiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiie 😛) I had to look for a phone in order to tell them my whereabouts and decide where/when to meet.

It made me think! I recalled how a lot of my friends tried to abandon technology for some time because they were fed up with… EVERYTHING! I remember how the majority failed to survive w/o their cell-phones OR checking their E-mails for more than 24 hours.

Nowadays it`s even more and more difficult to detach one`s self from the online world! The connectedness is simply overwhelming, there is almost NO escape from it.

But then again, quiet a few who managed (managed! :D) pulling it through talked about a unique experience of a peaceful, no-tech world -even if it was for a little while-, and coming back more energetic, in good spirits, and more wired if you want.

I want to give it a try! But when I thought about it I realized I`d fail miserably :(.

So I decided to take it easy and gradually, I thought I`d wait for one week before rewiring with a mobile phone + stop appearing on Twitter  (since I spend a lot of time there!) and see how things go!

I`m not sure if I will “survive”, but I guess it will be a good experience! I`m currently unemployed and do not really need a mobile and in the same time I do have a lot of free time on my hands; so it IS a challenge 🙂

As I type this I`m thinking of cheating! Saying to myself that I`ll only check my Twitter account once / day , or just see who messaged me there, but NO, it`s either a total cut or not 🙂

A week w/o technology is way too much for me, but I`ll start with bits and pieces from it and let you know what happens!

As for what am I going to do with all that offline time, most probably it`ll be spent catching up on some reading(s)! 🙂

See you next Sunday!

19 responses

  1. Pingback: اعتكاف تويتري – كلاكيت2 « Observations of a tired sOul.

  2. ما في كبسة dislike ??
    “but NO, it`s either a total cut or not”
    total cut for 1 week and then? you will be more active than before…
    زي اللي بعمل رجيم لا سبوع عشان ينقص 10 كيلو بروح بحرم حالو من كل شي… بعد الاسبوع برجع باكل كتير برجعهم 20 كيلو بيومين!..
    بطلع بالاخر مش مستفيد اشي !
    و لذلك يا سيد هيثم… انت بحاجهى لتنظيم وقتك… يعني مثلا حدد ساعات محدده ما تتجاوزها بهاد الاسبوع مثلا بالوضوع الطبيعي بتقعد على تويتر 5 ساعات باليوم خلي انو هاد الاسبوع ما بدك تقعد اكتر من ساعه….
    ممكن تقعدهم ربع ساعه متفرقين…ممكن ساعه كامله متواصله و هيك…
    اما من ادمان تويتر لولا اشي ما بنفع هيك بعدين
    و بعدين احنا من وين بدنا نجيب شيشاني تاني…؟!
    الله يرضى عليك بدبرلنا شيشاني تاني بعدين بتستقيل.. 🙂

    Like

  3. طالما التكنولوجيا موجوده لتسهيل حياتنا فليش نقاطعها؟!!!
    اما اذا تحولت لادمان بيعطلك عن اداء واجباتك اليوميه تجاه عائلتك او اصدقائك او شغلك او اي شي….هون لازم يكون عندك كنترول لضبطها وتحديد اوقاتها وبس….

    مثلاً مره انا حرقت طبخه وانا بلعب طرنيب اونلاين:)) بعديها قررت اني ما افتح موقع الشده الا لما اخلص طبخ وشغل البيت
    الحمدلله موبايلي ما في واي…والتويتر مش منسجمه معه….والفيسبوك بطلطل عليه بين الفينه والفينونة
    بيبقى البلوجر هو اللي بعطيه وقت فراغي….ما هو قراءه برضو وفيه فائده
    ولما ازهق منه بروح العب شده او اقرا اشياء عاملتلهم دانلود مسبقاً….
    محدده اوقات وجودي عالنت حسب متطلبات بيتي وعائلتي واوقات فراغي
    فعشان هيك ما بفكر اني امتنع عنه نهائيا…..على الاقل في المستقبل القريب

    Like

    • شدّة آآآآه

      هممم
      😀
      و الله أنا خايف/حاسس إني حأوصل لنقطة إدمان “حقيقيّ” و أنا غير مدرك!
      فعملت هذا الاختبار 🙂

      بالإضافة لأسباب أخرى من أهمها التركيز على أوليّات معيّنة كنت أهملتها!

      Like

  4. سبــحان الله …..كل الناس اللي بعرفهم إمــا إنهم فعلا انسحبوا من العالم الإفتراضي أو عم بفكروا حاليا …يمكن زي ما حكيت لما يوصل الواحد للإشباع وبرأيي أنا للنضوج الفكري كمان بصير يشوف وقته اللي بفضيه وراه الشاشه بشكل تاني ….ممل …مضيعه وقت ….بصير يقدر الوقت تقدير آخر …بس صدقني الحياة أكيد أحلى بشوية نت من فترة للتانية متباعده والتخفيف من النت بعطي للحياة والوقت نكهة أحلى ….البداية صعبه أكيد لكـــن كل شي مع العادة بصير عادي !!! يمكن الواحد لما تزيد مسؤولياته بالحياة ويكبر لحاله بخف ، أنا هيك رأيي مع الوقت دخولنا للعالم الإفتراضي راح يخف تلقائيا فكل شي يوقته حلو إذا اليوم أنا موجوده أنا بكرا مو هون 🙂 …

    Like

    • بدك الصراحة
      أنا ليس بدافع الملل
      و لكن
      أولاً كاختبار بسيط
      🙂
      +
      أوليّاتي “ملخبطة” تماماً حالياً ، و لهذا أحس بأنها خطوة جيّدة لإعادة التوازن .. و لو قليلاً

      Like

  5. Nothing impossible…
    I do not Face book
    I do not tweet
    I have a very simple phone that barely connects to the internet, no chats, no bbms ..
    If i need to get in touch with friends and family it is with an e-mail or an old fashion phone call !!
    so if I can do it, am sure you can 🙂

    Like

  6. hopefully it’ll work very good for you ..
    i “95%” did it few months ago
    it was different since most of my friend, either connect to them or met them in the virtual world ..

    u know i’m thinking about “95%” following ur steps ..
    i’ll think it through tonight and come back with a decision ..

    good luck my friend .. and see you next week .. 🙂

    Like

  7. Hmmm. Is this the time and place to confess I don’t have a mobile? Almost never use my home phone? Only bought my first Apple product (iPod 4 Touch) a few months ago? Have 2 Facebook accounts which are “friendless by choice” and rarely used? Set up a Twitter account 2 months ago and haven’t looked at it since (deciding my tweetonym was exhausting–all that repeated counting to 15 and editing)?

    No, best not. Someone might think I am troglodytic. Off to check my email, blog, and Google Reader!

    😀

    Sent from my iPod

    Like

    • oh thank u 4 the encouragement! Lol
      it all should be bwt u! right 😛
      but seriously, well-done, no wonder yr blog is a master-piece 🙂

      u invest good deal of time on it, no E-distractions 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

